English | Hindi | Spanish | Deutch

Minimum educational Qualification for the post of Radiographer – Clarification regarding

Government of India
Ministry of Railways
(Railway Board)


RBE NO.80/2015

No.E(NG)II/2001/RR-1/45                                                      New Delhi, Dated: 14/07/2015

The General Manager (P)

All Zonal Railways/Production Units/

Chairmen, Railway Recruitment Boards (RRBs)


Sub:     Minimum educational Qualification for the post of Radiographer – Clarification regarding


            References have been received from some of the RRBs, seeking clarification , whether candidates in possession of Diploma from following institutions can be accepted for direct recruitment to the post of Radiographer in Pay Band of Rs.5200-20200 (Grade Pay: Rs.2800);-

  1. Certificate of Radiological Assistants Course (Two year course) – from Maulana Azad Medical College & Lok Nayak Hospital, New Delhi.
  2. B.Sc.Radiation Technology (Part-III) – from Rajasthan University of Health Science, Jaipur.
  3. B.Sc. in Medical Technology,(X-Ray) 3 Years course – from PGIMER, Chandigarh.
  4. Radiographer Training Course (two years course) – from Govt. Medical College, Patiala.
  5. B.Sc. in Medical Technology (Radio diagnosis & Imaging) – from PGIMER, Chandigarh.
  6. B.SC. Medical Technology (Radiology & Imaging) from  H.P. University.
  7. Diploma in Medical Lab Technology (X-Ray & Imaging) – awarded by Indian Medical Association (after B.Sc.).
  8. One year diploma course from Adult, Continuing Education & Extension Centre, Jadavpur University/Kolkata conducted  in collaboration with Calcutta Medical Research Institute.
  9. Three years degree course in B.Sc.Radiation Technology – issued by Rajasthan University of Health Sciences, SMS Medical College, Jaipur.
  10. Two years Vocational Course in the trade of Diploma in Radiography (X-Ray Technican) – issued by National Institute of Open Schooling, Government of India, New Delhi.

The issue has been examined in consultation with Health Directorate of this Ministry and it has been decided that the aforesaid Diploma can be accepted in lieu of qualification prescribed for open market recruitment to the post of Radiographer provided the same is at least a two year course and should  not have been obtained through distance learning mode.

Please acknowledge receipt.

(Hindi version will follow)

(This disposes off RRB/Chandigarh’s letter No. RRB/CGD/PMED/120212 dated 27.2.12 & 25.03.2015, RRB/Ajmer’s letter no. RRB/All/Rectt./Edu. Policy/06/10/2013 dated 15.07.13 & 16.03.2015 and RRB/Kolkata’s letter No.RRB/KOL/LAB/RG/29/PT.l dated 12.12.2013)    


Director Estt. (N)II
Railway Board

No.E(NG)II/2001/RR-1/45                                                          New Delhi, Dated:14/07/2015

Copy to:

The General Secretary, AIRF, Room No. 253, Rail Bhawan, New Delhi (35 spares)

The General Secretary, NFIR, Room No. 256-E, Rail Bhawan, New Delhi (35 spares)

All Members of Departmental Council and National Council and Secretary, Staff Side, National Council , 13-C, Ferozeshah Road, New Delhi (60 spares).


The Secretary General, FROA, Room No. 256-A, Railway  Board (5 spares).


  1. The Secretary, RBSS, Group ‘A’ Officers’ Association.
  2. The President, Railway Board Class II Officers’ Associations.
  3. The Secretary General, IRPOF.
  4. The Secretary, Indian Railways Class II Officers’ Association.
  5. The Secretary, Railway Board Ministerial Staff Association.
  6. The President, Railway Board Class IV Officers’ Association.
  7. The General Secretary, AIRPF Association.

The General Secretary, All India SC& ST Railway Employees Association, Room No.-7, Rail Bhawan, New Delhi.

  1. Chief Commissioner for Railway Safety, Lucknow.

Chief Administrative Officer, RCF/Raebareli Project, Kishanganj, Delhi-7


For Secretary Railway Board

Copy to: PSs to MR & MOS(R)


Copy to: PSO/Sr.PPS/PPSs/PSs/PA to:

CRB, FC, MS, ML, ME, MT, MM, DG/RPF, Secretary, DG/RHS.


AM (Comml), AM(CE), AM(C&IS), AM(Elect), AM(Budget), AM(Mech), AM(Plg), AM(PU),

AM(Sig), AM(Store), AM(Traffic), AM(Works), AM(T&C), AM(F), Adv(Vig), AM(Staff), Adv.(IR), Adv.(Infra), Adv(C ), Adv(Project), Adv.(Health)

EDE(N), EDCE(G), EDF(E), ED(Safety), EDV(A), EDE(RRB), EDE(Sports), ED(E&R), EDH(G), EDE(GC) EDE(Res), EDH(P), ED(T&MPP), EDE, EDPC-I, EDPC-II, EDF(BC), ED(ERP), Chairman/HRRC, JS JS(G), JS(E), JS (C), DE(W), DE(P&A), DE(Res.), Dir.(MPP), DS(G), DF(E), DE(G), DE(GP), DE(LL), Dir. (OL.), JDF(E), JDE(N)III, JDE(RRB), JDE(Rep), JDE(Rep)II, DDF(E)1, DDF(E)-III,DDE(R )-II, DDE(LR)-II,.E(P&A)I&II, E(G), E(NG)I, E(Trg), E(MPP), F(E)I, F(E)-II,A/C-III, ERB-I, ERB-II, ERB-III, ERB-IV, ERB-V & FRB-VI E(Rep)I, E(Rep)-II & E(Rep)-III, E(Sports), E(W) Sec(E), FE(Spl), E(RRB), PC-III, PC-IV, PC-V & PC-VI, E(SCT)I & E(SCT-II, E(GR) I& E(GR)-II, E(GC), E(GP), PR, E(D&A), E(Co-op), Code Revision Cell/Braches of Railway Board