

INDIAN MEDICAL ASSOCIATION (HQs.)

(Registered under the Societies Act XXI of 1860) Mutually Affiliated with the British & Nepal Medical Associations I.M.A. House, Indraprastha Marg, New Delhi-110 002





Dr.Ravi S.Wankhedkar (Maharashtra) Dr. Rajan Sharma (Haryana)

Dr. J. A. Jayalal (Tamil Nadu) Dr. Pragnesh C. Joshi (Gujarat) Dr. P. Gangadhara Rao (Andhra Pradesh) Dr. Anil S. Pachnekar (Maharashtra)

Honorary Finance Secretary Dr. Ramesh Kumar Datta (Delhi)

Honorary Joint Secretaries
Dr. Vijay Kumar Malhotra (Delhi) Dr. V. K. Arora (Delhi)

Dr. Amrit Pal Singh (Delhi)
Dr. PijushKanti Roy (Bengal) Dr. SibabrataBanerjee (Bengal) HonoraryAssistant Secretaries

Dr. UshaSridhar (Delhi)

Dr. S. K. Poddar (Delhi) HonoraryJoint Finance Secretaries
Dr. Dinesh Sahai (Delhi)

Dr. Iskandar Hossain (Bengal) IMA CGP (Chennai)
Dean of Studies

Dr. SudhirDhakre (Uttar Pradesh) Honorary Secretary
Dr. L. Yesodha (Tamil Nadu)
IMA AMS (Hyderabad) Chairman

Dr. Natwar Sharda (Madhya Pradesh) Honorary Secretary

Dr. Mohan Gupta (Telangana) IMA AKN Sinha Institute (Patna)

Dr. Paramjit Singh Bakhshi (Punjab) Honorary Executive Secretary Dr. Ajay Kumar (Bihar)
JIMA (Calcutta)

Honorary Editor **Dr. GolokbihariMaji** (Bengal) Honorary Secretary Dr. Sanjoy Banerjee (Bengal) edical Journal (Delhi)

Chairman Dr. Ravi S. Wankhedkar (Maharashtra) Editor-in-Chief

Dr. Vedprakash Mishra (Maharashtra) Your Health (Calcutta)

Honorary Editor Dr. NanditaChakrabarti (Bengal)

Dr. Kakali Sen (Bengal) IMA N.S.S.S. (Ahmedabad) Chairman

Dr.Kirti M.Patel (Gujarat) Honorary Secretary Dr.Yogendra S.Modi (Gujarat)

IMA N.P.P.Scheme (Thiruvananthapuram)
Chairman Dr.Krishna M.Parate (Maharashtra)

Honorary Secretary
Dr.Jayakrishnan A. V. (Kerala)

ApkaŚwasthya (Varanasi) Honorary Editor Dr. Manoj Kumar Srivastava (Uttar Pradesh

Honorary Secretary

Dr. Ashok Rai (Uttar Pradesh) IMA Hospital Board of India Chairman

Dr. Vinod Kumar Monga (Delhi) Honorary Secretary

Dr.Jayesh M.Lele (Maharashtra) IMA Women Doctors Wing Chairman Dr. Mona Desai (Gujarat)

Honorary Secretary Dr. Neeta S. Biyani(Maharashtra)
IMA Mission Pink Health

Chairman Dr. Vijaya Mali (Maharashtra) Honorary Secretary
Dr. VibhaTandon(Delhi)

MA Junior Doctors' Network Dr. Adit Desai (Guiarat)

Honorary Secretary

Dr. K. M. Abul Hasan (Tamil Nadu) Chairman

Dr.Sreejith N. Kumar(Kerala) Honorary Secretary

Dr.Ajoy Kumar Saha(Maharashtra)
IMA National Health Scheme Chairman

Dr.Ashok S.Adhao (Maharashtra) Honorary Secretary
Dr.Alex Franklin (Kerala) **IMA National Pension Scheme**

Dr. Prashant Nikhade (Maharashtra) Honorary Secretary
Dr. P. Gopeenathan (Kerala) IMA National Family

Dr. K. Vijayakumar (Tamil Nadu) *Honorary Secretary*

Dr. V. Sasidharan Pillai (Kerala)

National President

Dr. Santanu Sen (M): 9830144496, 9013181020, 9870134600 Email: shantanu_sen2007@yahoo.com

Skype: drsantanu.mp

IMA/HSG/112/676

August 19th, 2019

Dr. R. V. Asokan

(M): 9847061563

Honorary Secretary General

Email: rvasokan@gmail.com

To. Mr. Richard Horton Editor-in-Chief The Lancet

Dear Mr. Horton,

Greetings from Indian Medical Association!

This is regarding the editorial "Fear and uncertainty around Kashmir's future" published in "The Lancet, Vol394 on August 17th, 2019"

It is unfortunate that the reputed medical journal The Lancet has committed breach of propriety in commenting on this political issue.

It is amounting to interference into an internal matter of Union of India. The Lancet has no locus standii on the issue of Kashmir. Kashmir issue is a legacy that the British Empire left behind.

The Lancet has reacted to an internal administrative decision of Government of India under the garb of concern for the health of Kashmiris.

Indian Medical Association, the National medical organisation of India baptised in the fire of freedom struggle condemns this unsolicited intrusion into the affairs of the Sovereign Republic of India. Generations of Indians especially the doctors and medical students will carry the unpleasant memory of this act of commission by "The Lancet".

We wish to question the credibility and the malafide intention behind the uncalled for editorial.

Indian Medical Association on behalf of the medical fraternity of India withdraws the esteem we had for The Lancet.

Thanking you

Dr. Santanu Sen National President

Dr. R.V. Asokan

Hony. Secretary General

Doctors for Doctors and Community at Large

All communications intended for headquarters office should be addressed to the Honorary Secretary General